julie\’s kind kitchen


Spaghetti Squash is SO cool…
October 20, 2008, 5:14 pm
Filed under: Vegan Mofo | Tags:

In addition to the eggplant I got at the farmer’s market last Wednesday, I also got spaghetti squash. I have never eaten the stuff, but I was feeling adventurous. After researching cooking methods in my various cookbooks, I decided I would bake it in the oven. I split it in half first, gutted it and saved the yummy seeds (Jess loves squash seeds, too!). Then I put the halves cut side down on a sheet pan covered with parchment paper into a 350-375 degree oven for something like 30-35 minutes. Oh, and I rubbed the halves with a little olive oil first before going onto the sheet pan.

The results amazed me even more than rising pizza dough! Holy crap-it looks just like spaghetti when you use a fork to scoop out the innards! I have seen pictures of spaghetti squash strands on other blogs, of course, but I guess there is nothing like experiencing something for yourself!

Since the squash looked like pasta, I wanted to eat it like pasta. I whipped up a quick cashew cream sauce (soaked cashews + water + garlic + lemon juice + lots of pepper) and topped everything with some tomato, from guess where?! The farmer’s market.

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I ate spaghetti squash for lunch today – I can’t live without it! 🙂

Comment by VeggieGirl

Great minds think alike 😉

Comment by julieannef

Hehe! I just read about spaghetti squash on CCV’s blog too! And now I’m totally craving it…love the idea of topping it with cashew cream.

Comment by Bianca-Vegan Crunk

I know! I saw that right after I made my post. Crazzzzy.

Comment by julieannef

I’ve never eaten Spaghetti Squash before either!
I’m guessing it tastes like Squash right?

Comment by Jeni Treehugger

oh, awesome! you’re making me want to go out and get a spaghetti squash, too. It’s been a long time, and that looks delicious!

Comment by Liz²

Haha great vegan minds think alike!

Comment by chocolatecoveredvegan

I love spaghetti squash! It’s so neat!

Comment by Carrie

Looks wonderful! What is that you are eating on the side? Some sort of focaccia? It also looks delicious!

Comment by Vegannifer

Hi Jeni-It tastes like squash + noodles to me. Like if squash and spaghetti had a child! :]

Hi Vegannifer-It is rosemary focaccia from the farmer’s market (I get everything there these days!).

Comment by julieannef

It IS cool and so so yummy! Hey, I made the Moroccan veggies and enoyed some eggplant!

Comment by Diann

Yummy. That cream sauce looks so decadent. I will have to try something like that soon. I’ve made cream sauces with walnuts before, but never cashews. If only they weren’t so expensive so I could experiment more.
BTW, I just tagged you to share what’s in your freezer. I’d love to see what you’ve got in there.

Comment by Kelly

I usually skip the spaghetti squash for butternut and acorn, but I really do like it just the same. It’s also good with southwestern flavors, like black beans and corn.

Comment by veganhomemade

spaghetti squash is super cool and it tastes yum too

Comment by bex

That’s some serious deliciousness you have going on there. Loves me some sgetti squash.

Comment by Veg-in-Training




Leave a Reply

