julie\’s kind kitchen


Spaghetti Squash is SO cool…
October 20, 2008, 5:14 pm
Filed under: Vegan Mofo | Tags:

In addition to the eggplant I got at the farmer’s market last Wednesday, I also got spaghetti squash. I have never eaten the stuff, but I was feeling adventurous. After researching cooking methods in my various cookbooks, I decided I would bake it in the oven. I split it in half first, gutted it and saved the yummy seeds (Jess loves squash seeds, too!). Then I put the halves cut side down on a sheet pan covered with parchment paper into a 350-375 degree oven for something like 30-35 minutes. Oh, and I rubbed the halves with a little olive oil first before going onto the sheet pan.

The results amazed me even more than rising pizza dough! Holy crap-it looks just like spaghetti when you use a fork to scoop out the innards! I have seen pictures of spaghetti squash strands on other blogs, of course, but I guess there is nothing like experiencing something for yourself!

Since the squash looked like pasta, I wanted to eat it like pasta. I whipped up a quick cashew cream sauce (soaked cashews + water + garlic + lemon juice + lots of pepper) and topped everything with some tomato, from guess where?! The farmer’s market.

