julie\’s kind kitchen


Curry ‘fu, Farmer’s Market and Redo Review
June 25, 2008, 11:42 pm
Filed under: Isa, product review

After seeing Catherine’s mouthwatering posts about VCON’s Curry Tofu, I knew I had to make some asap! After I got home from work yesterday, I decided to get to it. While the tofu got a quick bath in the marinade, I washed a head of kale and steamed some (saved some for another dish) and prepared some whole wheat cous cous with golden raisins to serve on the side. Then I grilled up the ‘fu and called it a complete meal.

This was certainly a tasty and quick meal! I will definitely be making the Curry Tofu again. It was even better today, after a longer soak.

Fast forward to this afternoon when I headed down to the farmer’s market in Downtown Phoenix. Sometimes the produce available can be slim pickings, but there was a lot today! This market surely doesn’t compare to say, what she has access to, but it’s something. I came home with 1 red pepper, 1 green pepper, 1 beautiful eggplant, 1 crooked neck squash, 1 onion, 1 bulb of garlic, 1 peach, 5 plums, lots of potatoes and a big ass watermelon.

Grand total spent: $16.00 Now, that’s a deal.

Remember back in this post when I reviewed some of Galaxy’s vegan cheese? Well Bianca mentioned in the comments that she enjoys “semi-melted” vegan cheese over chips. Egads! Bianca is one smart cookie. The cheese (including the slices) tastes way better semi-melted (rather that melted or straight out of the fridge). Thanks, girl!

Hope everyone is enjoying their summer like I am!



15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think I’m having almost the exact same meal for dinner tomorrow night! 🙂 Curried tofu and greens = heaven on a plate!

P.S. I need to change my grocery-shopping routine and have it happen on the weekends, so I can hit my farmer’s market more often! You scored some great stuff for not very much money!

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

Wow, look at all that produce! Who says being a vegetarian is more expensive than being a meat-eater?!

Comment by ChocolateCoveredVegan

Produce from farmer’s market looks divine!

Comment by Kumudha

$16 for all that awesome farmer’s market loot?! sweet gloriousness; that’s stellar! sounds like dan & i need to be try’n that curried tofu. i love tofu, i love curry. daaaaayum! it looks so good!

Comment by jessy

Nice market haul! And that tofu looks delish.

Comment by veganhomemade

I’m glad you found my blog! The tofu looks and sounds really yummy, and that farmer’s market bounty is great!

Comment by Theresa

What a steal! I love Farmer’s Markets. The “city” market here in Ottawa has become quite commercialized (stuff from California, Peru, etc) and now everything is more expensive than the grocery store!

Comment by Aly

No prob. Glad you liked it that way too…and it looks like you picked up plenty at the farmer’s market. I’m kinda sad because I’ll be in Nashville this weekend, so I have to miss my hometown Memphis market on Saturday. The one in Nashville sucks. It’s huge, but they sell stuff that’s not local (like bananas). 😦

Comment by Bianca- Vegan Crunk

Yum, that curry tofu sounds delicious. I am just getting ready to head to my farmer’s market too. Unfortunately, as Bianca already said, the one in Nashville pretty much sucks. 😦

Comment by Vivacious Vegan

Just discovered your blog….pretty awesome.

Comment by vegantickles

Ah, love the bounty from the farmer’s market!

Comment by VKO-Lifestyles of the Chic & Vegan

Looks tasty! I love curry.

Comment by Wheeler's Frozen Desserts

Now YOU have me wanting that curry tofu! Looks like a complete and delicious meal!

Comment by Vegan_Noodle

Farmers markets = my BFF! I love them!! It looks like you got some awesome goods there.

Comment by Jess - The Domestic Vegan

Hrm…what exactly is big ass watermelon? That must be a new variety! I’ve got to go to the farmers market in nearby Gainesville now. I am stoked!

Comment by Nikki




Leave a Reply

