julie\’s kind kitchen


Muffins, Vegan Cheese and Tasty Impromptu Meal
June 13, 2008, 7:23 pm
Filed under: Dreena, Isa, product review

So here are the Quinoa Almond Muffins from VCON that I mentioned I was going to make in the last post. Many of you wanted to know how these tasted, others said they already liked them and even others said they thought they were ok. I have to agree that they are ok. I mean they are good, just not good. I subbed dried cherries for dried apricots because that’s what I had. I think adding a couple of different kinds of dried fruit might jazz up these muffs up a bit.

Thanks for your “cheesy” suggestions in the last post! har har I decided to make nachos (I wanted pizza, but I was too tired to make it at the time). I used some of the Cheddar block and grated it over Trader Joe’s flax chips (I really like these, btw) and heated everything up in a 400 degree oven until the cheese was melted. I then took them out and topped everything with sliced green onions, Dreena’s Guacamole con Alga Marina and a dash of hot sauce.

So, what did I think of the cheese? It’s ok. After I ate a few bites of the nachos, I grated more cheese on top, but didn’t melt it. It tasted a lot better not melted, in my opinion.

This afternoon I set out to make Vegan Dad’s Best Ever Vegan Mini Meatloafs. Tomorrow I am going over to my Grandparent’s house for an early Father’s Day celebration and this recipe looked perfect for the vegetarian entrée. I purposefully made it a day ahead just in case it wasn’t so perfect, so I would have time to make something else (which has happened to me before!). I didn’t have any HP sauce or browning sauce, but I did add vegetarian worcestershire sauce and liquid smoke.

Well, I took it out of the oven and it looked and smelled SOO good! So, instead of going out tonight (which we usually do most Friday nights) Matt agreed to stay in and sample some of the meatloaf.

So then I had to decide what to have with the meatloaf…

Earlier in the day (pre-meatloaf) I made VCON’s Shredded Parsnip and Beet Salad in Pineapple Vinaigrette. I didn’t make it to go with anything really, it’s just a recipe I’ve wanted to make after seeing this post from Kamutflake Girl. So, I figured-this can be eaten with meatloaf! Lastly, I remembered I had gotten corn on the cob from the farmer’s market on Wednesday and surely corn goes with meatloaf!

And a meal was born!! I’m telling you, this meal was incredibly delicious! The meatloaf was perfect and the salad is so sweet it’s almost like dessert! Thanks Vegan Dad and Isa :]

I call this meal comfort food meets summertime food.

10 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I LOVE the new look! I almost forgot where I was for a moment.

Your dinner looks very summery. Your family will love it.

Comment by atxvegn

I just made that salad, too. I had the same thought, “who needs ice cream when you can just have more salad?” 🙂 YUM.

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

Phew! I am so glad my claims about my own food weren’t inflated. Ha ha. So glad it all worked out.

Comment by Vegan Dad

you have been busy!! &thanks for all the reviews!!! Every thing looks awesome – you made some great choices!

Comment by happyherbivore

That does look quite comforting! I always love vegan meatloaf…and your nachos look fantastic. I’m always a fan of semi-melted vegan cheese over chips. I actually like to put a few tortilla chips in the microwave with vegan cheese for a quick snack.

Comment by Bianca-Vegan Crunk

The nachos and meatloaf look wonderful! I’ve been wanting to try that recipe from VeganDad.

Comment by veganhomemade

Pineapple vinagrette?! That sounds awesome… I’m off to go click on the link to find the recipe!

Comment by ChocolateCoveredVegan

Bianca-You’re a genius. I semi-melted and things are SO much better here in vegan cheese land!

CCV-The recipe is in Veganomicon :]

Thanks for the kind words everyone!

Comment by julieannef

[…] back in this post when I reviewed some of Galaxy’s vegan cheese? Well Bianca mentioned in the comments […]

Pingback by Curry ‘fu, Farmer’s Market and Redo Review « julie’s kind kitchen

Those nachos are calling my name!!

Ohh, you reminded me about the meatloaf recipe…I’m going to make that tonight for dinner! Yours DELICIOUS!

Comment by Ashley Nicole




Leave a Reply

