julie\’s kind kitchen


New Look, Homemade Bread and Galaxy Hummus Review
June 8, 2008, 9:36 pm
Filed under: cooking projects, Dreena, Isa, product review

First off, the blog has a new look!! Matt and I (mostly Matt) made the custom header you see above. Walking the Vegan Line and Vegan Dad both have cool new headers, so I decided it was time for Julie’s Kind Kitchen to have one too. The header may be changed a little in the future or not. I am not sure. What do you think?

Next, I made my first loaf of homemade bread! Wee. This is just one of the cooking projects I’ve listed here. I couldn’t find the soy milk powder this bread machine recipe calls for, so I just went with the Oatmeal Bread recipe on the back of the King Arthur bread flour bag. I like it a lot, but it came out really dense. Meaning it’s great by itself heated up with butter, but too dense for any kind of sandwich. Does anyone have a recipe for a lighter bread? Also, I would like for my next loaf to be whole wheat. I have a bread machine that Matt’s mom gave me, so it can be a bread machine recipe or not. I really want to keep making bread because not only is it fun ( I like to knead!), but it’s also so much cheaper than buying bread at the store.

Next up, Galaxy Foods sent us some free samples! So far I’ve only tried the hummus and I must say it’s really freaking good. I love the non-oily taste and little red pepper chunks sprinkled throughout. Plus, it’s organic. That’s good, right?

I am not to sure what I want to make with the vegan cheese. Suggestions? The block is Cheddar and the slices are Mozzarella and Pepper Jack.

Here’s a lil’ bit of that Galaxy hummus on a plate with pita and Dreena’s Quinoa Spring Salad. This is a recipe I have been meaning to try fore-v-e-r and never got around to it. I am glad I finally did, it’s so light and fresh tasting. What a perfect snack!

Can you guess which book is open in the background? Yup, it’s Veganomicon. I have some leftover quinoa and I think I am going to make the Quinoa Almond Muffins. Quinoa in a muffin? I’ll let you know how they turn out.

Finally, my Mom is reading the blog now…HI MOM!!

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love the new look of your blog!! And the food looks great as well :0)

Yes, try the quinoa muffin recipe!!

Comment by VeggieGirl

The new header is cute. And homemade bread is infinitely better than store bought. For the cheese I suggest quesadillas and sandwiches.

Comment by veganhomemade

Love the new look. And I think the header is just perfect…no need for change. I wish I could find the Galaxy Hummus here. I keep seeing it on blogs, but they don’t sell it here. They sell the cheese here though…btw, just curious, but how does one score a sample box from Galaxy Foods? I’ve seen this on several blogs now…

Comment by Bianca- Vegan Crunk

I love the new look! Regarding the cheddar vegan cheese, I recently made some crepes and just topped them with grated cheese. You can see the pictures in my blog (the recipe is in Portuguese, but I’d be happy to translate it if you need).
Cheers.

Comment by Andréa N.

Julie, I can’t remember whether you found my homemade bread recipe or not, but it stayed pretty soft for me, and made excellent sandwiches. Here it is!

I loosely based this loaf of bread on Mollie Katzen’s “Basic Bread Recipe” from The Enchanted Broccoli Forest, with a few modifications of my own. Recipe:

Ingredients:
5 cups whole-wheat bread flour (or white-whole-wheat flour)
1/3 cup vital wheat gluten
2/3 cup ground flaxseeds
2 tablespoons active dry yeast
1 1/2 cups warm water
1/3 cup molasses, divided
1/4 cup melted Earth Balance
1 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1. Combine the flour, wheat gluten, and flax, stirring well with a whisk. Reserve this mixture.
2. Combine the yeast, water, and a teaspoon of molasses. Let this mixture sit until it begins to foam, about 5 minutes. Stir in two cups of the flour mixture, cover, and allow this (the “sponge”) to rise in a warm place for 30 minutes to 1 hour.
3. Combine the melted butter, remaining molasses, and salt. Stir this mixture into the sponge. Continue stirring for 100 strokes, or until everything is very well combined.
4. Stir in the flour mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, until the dough is too difficult to stir with a spoon. Turn the dough out onto a floured surface, and continue adding the flour mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, until you have a smooth, slightly tacky (but not sticky) dough. (You may not use all of the flour mixture — I had over 1 cup left, so I just stuck it in a container in the freezer, and will use it next time.)
5. Knead the dough for 15 to 20 minutes. (Who needs to lift weights at the gym, anyway?) 😉
6. Place the dough in an oiled bowl, flip the dough over to coat it with the oil, cover with a towel, and let rise in a warm place, about 1 hour.
7. Punch the dough down and knead for 15 more minutes.
8. Shape the dough and place in your desired pan (make sure the pan is greased and floured well.) (I used a large, 9X5X3-inch loaf pan. You could also make two smaller loaves, a baguette, a boule, whatever.) Cover and allow the dough to rise for 1 hour.
9. Bake the dough at 375 for 30 to 40 minutes. Immediately remove from the pan and allow to cool on a wire rack.
10. Dig in!

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

Julie, I’d use regular whole-wheat flour if you can’t find white-whole-wheat or whole-wheat-bread flours. Whole-wheat pastry doesn’t have enough gluten in it to make the bread “bready” — it could get too dense that way.

Enjoy!

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

We love the Quinoa Almond Muffins from V-con. My kids just can not get enough of them. We rarely have quinoa left over since it is a favorite so I make quinoa just to make the muffins. 🙂

Comment by veganlinda

I love your header…that is cute and cool!

“Hi”…to your mom 🙂

Cheers,
Kristen

Comment by Kristen's Raw

hi julie,
i’ll admit i found the link to your blog under your comment on the ppk forum wondering if you should get my book. you know i’d say you’re crazy not to, but of course, i’m a bit biased. it’s certainly not like any other vegan cookbook out there….
once you get it, do let drop a line and let me know how it works out for you!
jae

Comment by jae

Cute, cute new header. Now I want one too ;o)

Comment by ChocolateCoveredVegan

your new header is AWESO<E

Comment by happy herbivore

Oh I love the new header!!! I think I might start changing mine more often (it took over a year to get it changed for the first time), so much fun.
And wow, your first homemade bread looks amazing!! I’m still a bit scared of making my own bread.
Let us know how the quinoa muffins turn out. I know some people have disliked them. I thought they were… different.
Oh, and I’d say definitely make some pizza with your cheese freebies!

Comment by Vegan_Noodle




Leave a Reply

