julie\’s kind kitchen


Munch a bunch of brunch!
June 3, 2008, 9:04 pm
Filed under: Isa

Every Saturday (usually) I make Matt and I a big brunch. There’s something about waking up late on a Saturday and relaxing in my pajamas while eating a big plate of breakfast food that warms my soul. Below are components of one such brunch. One very yellow brunch.

Toasted Coconut and Mango Muffins, Banana Rabanada (Brazillian Fronch Toast) and Red Flannel Hash (mine was yellow because of my yellow beets). These are all testers and will be in Isa’s upcoming brunch book. Oh, except for the tempeh bacon.

Everything was awesome, but the muffs were especially a hit. I played muffin fairy and gave some to various members of my family. Even the coconut haterz are begging for more!

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

What a fantastic ritual. I should pick that up, it’s nice to be able to enjoy foods that you can’t normally make on weekdays and just start the weekend in relaxation.

Comment by Romina

Weekend brunches are the best – especially when enjoyed while lounging in pajamas :0)

Those Coconut-Mango muffins look ESPECIALLY delicious – yum!

Comment by VeggieGirl

Hash with beets?! That sounds great! I’m so excited about Isa’s book. Can’t wait til it comes out.

Comment by Bianca- Vegan Crunk

Mango Coconut Muffins?!?!! I can’t wait!

Comment by atxvegn

Weekend brunches are the best.

Comment by veganhomemade

I heart Saturday brunch, too.

P.S. Thanks for the ProBar info — maybe I don’t get enough hits for them to notice me? Or ’cause I’m not vegan? I’ll email though — thanks!

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

We love weekend brunches as well. And being a Brazilian myself, I’m craving the rabanadas now. 🙂 Used to eat them for Christmas brunch with my Dad when I lived in Brazil. Good times.

Comment by Andrea N.

Andrea-Ooh cool! Your recipe is probably more authentic 😉 I am loving your blog…well looking at the pictures anyway :]

Comment by julieannef

I’ll stand in line for the new cookbook for the Toasted Coconut and Mango Muffin recipe alone. That sounds amazing. Coconut Haters?! There are such people?

Comment by vicki

What a fab brunch–esp. the muffins.

You were asking about my seitan recipe. It’s in the comments section of my seitan piccata post.

Comment by urban vegan

Those look awesome! What a nice menu for a relaxing Saturday morning …

Comment by Wheeler's Frozen Desserts

Now I want to have brunch every weekend!! THose tester recipes look soooo good. I’m especially digging the hash, I’ve had an obsession with beets lately.

Comment by Vegan_Noodle




Leave a Reply

