julie\’s kind kitchen


ProBar Review
May 26, 2008, 7:51 pm
Filed under: product review

A couple of days ago, I received a package from the lovely people at ProBar. They sent me (I know, ME!) 5 bars from their new Sweet and Savory line to test out. Well, of course I was more than willing to indulge them. Actually, I have been wanting to try ProBar for a very long time. They are a bit more expensive then I am used to spending on a bar, so I’ve never purchased or tried one until now.

Wanting to share the wealth and not be one-dimensional in my review, I gathered up some testers:

#1 Me. Grad student. Likes: Relaxing on the couch with a good book or movie. Dislikes: Mean people.

#2 Matt, boyfriend. Marketing. Likes: Playing guitar. Dislikes: People asking him if he plays basketball (he’s 6’7″).

#3 Mom. Teacher. Likes: Spending quality time with the family. Dislikes: Cooking.

#4 Lil’ Brother. 3rd grader. Likes: All sports. Dislikes: Cleaning his room.

Here’s what we thought-

Maple Pecan: Tester-Matt

Matt said this bar was awesome and super tasty.

Cherry Pretzel: Testers-Me, Mom and Lil’ bro

Mom says this bar gets a 4 out of 4 star rating.

Lil’ bro says 3 1/2 out of 4 stars. He said for the name of the bar being Cherry Pretzel there were not enough pretzels.

I have to agree on the pretzel thing. Besides that…delicious.

Sesame Goji: Tester- Me

This is my favorite flavor I tried. I don’t know who thought of the combo of sesame seeds and goji berries, but that person should get a raise!

Cocoa Pistachio: Tester- Me Matt

I totally called this flavor as soon as I saw it, but somebody (Matt!) forgot about that and scarfed this one down for breakfast.

Matt said he really liked this flavor too.

Kettle Corn: Tester-Me

Good, but something in this one was extra hard. The toasted corn? Also, I really didn’t taste “Kettle Corn” when I ate it. The chocolate in the bar was a little overpowering.

So, in sum:

PROS (hehe the PROS of ProBars!):

-Made with good for you wholesome and organic ingredients

-Really inventive flavors!! There’s no getting bored here.

-Everyone likes them, from kids to adults :]

Thank you so much to everyone at ProBar!

What are you waiting for?! Go buy a ProBar at let me know which flavor is your favorite! I wanna try a Cran-Lemon Twister!!

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

ooh, I like your new layout, and goji-sesame sounds amazing!

Comment by Liz²

Sounds great – especially the maple pecan one. yum!

Comment by VeggieGirl

i bought 4 pro bars before going on a cross-country flight since airlines and airports are mean to vegans.

anyway, i puked after trying two of them and then gave the last two to the girl next to me, who ironically, was a vegan, and she spit both of them on the floor.

This was back in… November? 2007.. I hope they’ve improved since then

Comment by happy herbivore

Everyone seems to love these except my family, who detested them… so I’m thinking my family must be from a different planet! Oh well—glad you liked them!

Comment by ChocolateCoveredVegan

Good to know! I’ll have to try ’em out!

Comment by Carrie

I really liked all of the probars too… My fav was the sesame gogi berry too.. YUM! I will definitely buy them in the future.

Comment by melody

Where is everyone getting free probar samples?? Me too, please!! 🙂

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

HH-That is awful! I am so sorry to hear that. Maybe call/email them about it? They seem really nice. I have no idea if they have improved the bars since then, but I do know these are new flavors.

CCV-I don’t care for Luna bars. Everyone has their own preferences, it makes sense…

Catherine-They contacted me maybe in November through the blog. You should email them and tell them you would be a great tester-outer :]

Comment by julieannef

Julie – thanks for the favorable reviews. We’re certainly glad you like them.

HH – I’m really sorry that the bars you ate back in November were sub par. While I’m not sure about the particular batch that you ate we do our best to keep all of the bars (which employ over 15 different raw ingredients) coming out the same. We’re going to contact you and see what may have gone wrong with the bars. mmmk? Watch your inbox.

catherine – hmmm….a Food Snob tester? I think we can work something out. I’ll comment over at your blog and we’ll be in touch.

Comment by Kendall

Rad! I don’t know if I’ve seen ProBars… maybe an American thing? Regardless, I want to test stuff!!!

Comment by VegMomma

I was just getting ready to stock up on bars for our upcoming trip and am now curious to see if I can find these. The sesame goji sounds really interesting.

Comment by Vivacious Vegan

ooh, lucky! I’ve been wanting to try those Probars since I first heard about them, especially that cocoa-pistachio!

Comment by Liz²

Wish they would send me some to taste….er…review. They sound very yummy.

Comment by urban vegan

Kendall, ProBar actually contacted me and apologized for my experience! I am so impressed and agreed to try some of the new flavors !

Comment by happyherbivore

HH – that’s great to hear!

Comment by Kendall




Leave a Reply

