julie\’s kind kitchen


Eat to Live CONTEST with bad ass prize
April 28, 2008, 6:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hello all,

Sorry I haven’t blogged lately! I have been incredibly busy with school, work and my internship. The good news is, I only have one more paper to turn in and then I am FREE for the summer! WOO My goal for this summer is to RELAX and take time for myself.

In the spirit of taking care of myself, I am starting the 6 week Eat to Live program with some other PPKers on May 1st. I am excited, but scared! No dark chocolate?! Does.Not.Compute.

Here’s where you come in. Starting today until May 5th, leave me a comment with a yummy and ETL friendly recipe (or more than one). Remember, these are the parameters. Oh, and it doesn’t have to be your recipe…but, it can be. *ETA-I will be consuming small amounts of salt and olive oil, so it’s ok if the recipe has either * I will choose the tastiest sounding recipe and send that person a bad ass care package full of chocolate goodies. Hey, at least I can live through you :]

P.S. I went to a lecture today at ASU featuring Dr. Peter Singer! I enjoyed the lecture a lot and his accent is actually quite charming.

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hi Julie! Good luck with Eat to Live — I don’t know whether I could live without sugar and a little salt! Wow. Here’s my recipe for Sloppy Lentils, which I think you could make a couple of small changes to, for your plan. Here goes:

INGREDIENTS:
1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil
1 small onion, chopped
1 small green pepper, seeded and chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
1 15-ounce can no salt added tomato sauce
3/4 cup water (or apple juice — but you’ll have to use water)
1/2 cup French green lentils
2 teaspoons soy sauce (or Bragg’s — is that salt-free?)
1/2 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon ketchup (or salt-free tomato paste?)
1 teaspoon salt (omit — add extra Bragg’s if it’s ok?)
1 tablespoon ground flaxseed (optional)

DIRECTIONS:
1. Combine the oil, onion, green pepper, and garlic in your large saucepan. Cook and stir the vegetables over medium heat until they are tender, but not brown. Add the Italian seasoning, and cook and stir for about 1 minute.
2. Add the tomato sauce, water, lentils, soy sauce, vinegar, and ketchup to the pot. Bring everything to a boil. Lower the heat, and cover and simmer the lentils for 45 minutes.
3. Turn off the heat and stir in the flaxseed and salt.
4. Serve your lentils in whole grain pita, on toast, or on whole grain sandwich rolls. (Or, eat them as is, in a big bowl!)

Can you use oil? I forgot to look at that. If not, you could sweat the veggies in a little bit of water.

Good luck!

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

Sounds yummy, Catherine! I am gonna eta on the post that I am gonna have small amounts of evoo and salt. I don’t know how I could do the plan otherwise! Thanks again :]

Comment by julieannef

Beans and Greens:

2 T EVOO
5 cloves garlic, pressed
1/2 t dried thyme
1/2 t dried rosemary
1/2 t red pepper flakes
pinch sea salt
1 large onion, cut in half moons
1 head kale, shredded
1/2 c water or veg stock (more if needed)
1 29 oz can dark red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 T balsamic vinegar
1/4 c nutritional yeast
black pepper to taste
several grates fresh nutmeg
braggs to taste
1 T umeboshi vinegar

-In a COLD, heavy bottomed skillet place the evoo, spices, garlic and pinch salt. Very slowly, bring up to temperature until the garlic is caramelized. (this may take 20 minutes on low heat). Now, add the onions and kale and toss to coat with the garlic mixture. Turn the heat up to medium and add the stock and beans and cook until the kale is done to your likeness. Stir in the nutritional yeast, pepper, nutmeg, braggs and umeboshi vinegar. Season to your liking. Enjoy!

This makes 4 servings.

Comment by melody

Hi, Julie. When I did E2L I relied heavily on the fatfreevegan Eat to LIve recipe index. I’m not a breakfast eater or a fan of smoothies, and I noramlly eat a giant raw green salad every day for lunch with some beans thrown on top. My favorite easy recipes from the index are: Moroccan Chickpea & Vegetable Stew, Vindaloo Vegetables, Spicy Rice & Blackeyed Peas, and Banana Ice Cream.

Good luck!

Comment by aTxVegn

Awesome! The Eat to Live contest looks really cool …

Comment by Wheeler's

I follow E2L myself, and I just stumbled across your blog–it is great! I have been doing E2L for a little over 3 years now, and I actually really enjoy it. You will do wonderfully! Just about anything from Susan’s blog (http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/) is fabulous…it would be hard to pick just one thing! I really liked this one, though, http://blog.fatfreevegan.com/2008/01/cauliflower-dal-with-panch-phoran.html
and of course, big beautiful salads with lost of veggies and beans!!

Good luck!
Courtney

Comment by Courtney

Good luck Julie. I rely on Eat to Live (mostly) and am normally very happy with the plan. I love the Southwest Yellow Split Pea Soup and the Chili Pinto Beans from fatfreevegan.com. They are so incredibly yummy I could eat them every day.

I also love Moroccan Stew, as follows:
1 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 (14oz) cans diced tomatoes
3 C shredded cabbage
1/2 bell pepper, chopped
1 small zucchini, chopped
1/4 C raisins*
1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
2 stalks celery, chopped
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
Cover raisins in hot water until time to add them to stew, drain before adding.
Saute onion in a little water for several minutes. Add garlic and celery and saute for several more minutes. Add rest of ingredients, stir, lower heat and simmer about 20 minutes, uncovered.
*This is the only ingredient that is not exactly Eat to Live compliant, but it adds so much to the recipe I wouldn’t leave it out. I can’t see that it would do that much damage.

Here is one of my own recipes, Tandoori Chili, which is great if you like hot and spicy:
It is a “from the can recipe”, great for times when you don’t have much time.
1 onion, finely chopped
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 can no salt diced tomatoes
1 can low sodium Rotel tomatoes
1 can no salt tomato paste
2 cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 tsp tandoori spice mix (I found at World Market)
1 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp oregano
Saute onion in a little water for several minutes. Add garlic and saute another minute. Add rest of ingredients, bring to boil, then set heat to low and simmer for 30 to 60 minutes. Crockpot directions: Saute onion and garlic as directed, then place in crockpot. Add rest of ingredients and set on high for 3-4 hours, or low for 8 hours.

And finely, an “unrecipe”, which is just something that I make all the time that really doesn’t require a recipe. I get the giant stuffer button mushrooms. Slice them thickly, about 4 slices per mushroom, and dry grill them on my electric griddle, about 10-15 minutes each side. They release their liquid, and as it cooks out they get this great browned edge, but are still chewy inside, just fabulous that way on a veggie plate, or chopped and added to any recipe that calls for mushrooms.

I hope you have great success on this endeavor, maybe you won’t even miss the ch******e!

Comment by Tina

This is my 7 or 8th attempt to post something to this post…I won’t bother leaving a recipe anymore, because I see you have chosen your winner, but I will second that anything from fatfreevegan is great!

I have been doing E2L for the past 3 years–don’t be scared! It might be a little hard at first, but think of all that you CAN eat–endless fruits, veggies, beans, etc…yum! And you are starting at the best time–farmers markets should be opening up and there will be so much fresh delicious produce! Good luck! You can do it!

Courtney

Comment by Courtney

I love E2L and have lots of recipes on my blog, just click the Eat to Live label in the label cloud.

We still don’t use oil and eat a salad at dinner and lunch everyday because of that book!

Comment by happyherbivore




Leave a Reply

