julie\’s kind kitchen


yum yum yum
March 24, 2008, 8:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hello all! I hope everyone had a great weekend. I spent mine with family, which always makes me happy. I have tons of food pictures on my camera, so I better start posting them!

First up, mini loaves of banana bread. Aren’t they sooo cute?? There are actually three different kinds of loaves on that mountain: blueberry, chocolate chip and plain. I always use the VCON Lower Fat Banana Bread recipe. It makes for ultra moist bread.

nanna-bread.jpg

Next up, some pure raw goodness. The first picture is a raw salad with mixed greens, mushrooms, spouts, avocado and pâté. The second is a wrap, pre-wrapping. The pâté is of the Save the Tuna variety a la raw goddess herself, Ani Phyo. I am no raw foodist myself, but I love her book. It has great recipes and tips for anyone who likes to eat (and maybe needs some more veggies/fruits in their life?).

raw-salad.jpg

raw-tacos.jpg

More vegetable luuuuvin’. Roasted brussel sprouts. mmm

brus-sprouts.jpg

Last, but certainly not least, Black Bean and Sweet Potato Burgers. This is a combo of a few different recipes. YUM! We loved these. I am still tweaking the recipe, but I will post it once it’s perfect.

sweet-black-bean-burgers.jpg

This weekend is Matt’s birthday (it’s also this gal’s special day)! We are celebrating with friends on Friday night and then going to Prescott again! Woohoo. As anticipated, we are staying here.

P.S.-If you are reading this and are in the Phoenix area, contact me please! The Phoenix PPK meet-up group is expanding and we want you to join us for our next get together (beginning of May). Speaking of get-togethers, I will post pics from the last one soon.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks really tasty & healthy! And those little banana loaves are too cute- glad you had a nice weekend with your family!

Comment by VKO-Lifestyles of the Chic & Vegan

I love the mini-loaf pyramid!

Comment by Liz²

Mmmm mini loaves = perfect finger foods!
Roasted Brussel’s sprouts are one of my favorite things to eat– in fact, I am making some today! And the burgers sound oh-so-good. I look forward to the recipe.

Comment by ChocolateCoveredVegan

all the greenness makes me happy… almost as happy as blueberries! MMM!!

Comment by happyherbivore

Hi again!
Just wanted to pass on this information …

Boston Magazine recently published an article all about us this month – here is the link:

Oh Soy Tasty!

If you have a few minutes to spare, could do us a huge favor and read the article and comment at the bottom of the page? We’re very excited about getting such great press, especially from a magazine of this caliber. If everyone drops by and leaves a quick comment, soon there will be no doubt in any publisher’s mind: YES, readers absolutely do want to know about vegan happenings and developments. Please don’t hesitate to repost the article on your blog and spread the world!

Thanks!
Emily @ Wheeler’s Frozen Desserts

Comment by Wheeler's Frozen Desserts

Yum, that raw food dish looks delish! I must get a raw cookbook…. Everything else looks great too, especially the black bean & sweet potato patties. Wow all around!!

Comment by laura jesser

Your raw salad doesn’t only look healthy, it looks totally delicious, too. What is that pate made of?

Comment by Mihl

Um….mind if I pop over for lunch? 😉

Comment by urbanvegan

I really have to try that banana bread recipe, those loaves look simply delicious!! What did you bake them??

Comment by Brianna

I love banana bread. But not with chocolate chips — I’m weird. (Blueberries, however, sound fantastic!)

P.S. I just finished posting pictures from my recent trip to Haiti — come check ’em out, if you have a chance!

Comment by catherine

Those mini loaves are adorable! I love banana bread, but have never had it with blueberries. That sounds awesome! My mom used to make it with chocolate chips, and I remember it being such a great treat. I haven’t tried that recipe yet! Yummmmm.

Comment by Jess - The Domestic Vegan

Wow, those black bean and sweet potato burgers sound delicious!
I’m also digging the raw wrap!

Comment by veganseat




Leave a Reply

