julie\’s kind kitchen


You’ve got questions. I’ve got answers.
November 18, 2007, 8:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

1. Favorite non-dairy milk? I haven’t met a non-dairy milk I don’t like! We always have almond milk in the fridge. I buy oat and hemp when it’s on sale.

2. What are the top 3 dishes/recipes you are planning to cook? I am going to make one of the pot pies from VCON this week as an early Thanksgiving-ish meal for Matt and I. (On actual Thanksgiving, we are going out to dinner with his family.) I’ll also be making cranberry sauce because I love the stuff!

3. Topping of choice for popcorn? Salt, garlic powder and nooch. Melted eb if I am feeling really indulgent.

4. Most disastrous recipe/meal failure? There’s been a few. I tried to make Matt a cheesecake for his 21st birthday and accidentally used firm ‘fu instead of silken….yuuuuck.

5. Favorite pickled item? I haven’t tried many pickled items…so I don’t think I can answer this one…

6. How do you organize your recipes? Matt finally made me put them all in a binder haha

7. Compost, trash, or garbage disposal? Trash and disposal.

8. If you were stranded on an island and could only bring 3 foods…what would they be (don’t worry about how you’ll cook them)? VCON Black Bean Burgers, guacamole and margaritas!

9. Fondest food memory from your childhood? My family didn’t cook a lot…but, I would say the times when someone did cook and we all sat down and ate as a family.

10. Favorite vegan ice cream? Green soft serve

11. Most loved kitchen appliance? Food processor…hands down!!

12. Spice/herb you would die without? Garlic

13. Cookbook you have owned for the longest time? This Betty Crocker one for kids. I still love to look through it.

14. Favorite flavor of jam/jelly? Raspberry

15. Favorite vegan recipe to serve to an omni friend? Cookies or hummus

16. Seitan, tofu, or tempeh? Seitan. The Simple Seitan recipe from VCON is the best. I really don’t care for the baked seitan everyone loves ::gasp::

17. Favorite meal to cook (or time of day to cook)? Saturday or Sunday afternoon

18. What is sitting on top of your refrigerator? Empty wine bottles and Matt’s cork collection

19. Name 3 items in your freezer without looking. Frozen carrots, frozen corn, cashews

20. What’s on your grocery list? I just went to WF, so nothing

21. Favorite grocery store? We had a really cool co-op here, but it went out of business. So, I guess Trader Joe’s.

22. Name a recipe you’d love to veganize, but haven’t yet. My mom’s “Groovy Chicken Casserole”.

23. Food blog you read the most (besides Isa’s because I know you check it everyday). Or maybe the top 3? I love them all equally.

24. Favorite vegan candy/chocolate? Mike and Ikes

25. Most extravagant food item purchased lately? Olives from WF

26. Veganaise or Nayonaise? Veganaise! Mmmm

27. What is one recipe or ingredient or cooking technique that you’ve become familiar with in the last year that you can’t imagine you ever lived without? Making seitan

28. If you could pick anyone to take a one hour cooking lesson from, who would it be? Ms. Isa Chandra Moskowitz

 

 

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m loving this survey going round!

How did I forget to include margaritas in my survey. That’s it I’m going to have to ditch my island and swim to yours. But I better not do any swimming after the margaritas!

Oh man I wish I was in your neck of the woods to try that soft serve!

Comment by Teresa

I don’t care for baked seitan, either. For awhile I kept trying different recipes for it, since everyone else seemed to rave about it. I never found one that I liked at all, so I’ve given up on baked seitan.

Comment by Laura Faye

I like that your mom’s dish is “groovy”. : )

Comment by getsconed

Teresa- I figured if I am stuck on an island, I might as well party it up!

Laura-yay! I am not alone. Try the Simple Seitan recipe and you will like seitan again.

Jess-hehe yeah. That’s the official name she gave it =]

Comment by julieannef

okay so all I had to do is read your answer to the first question, and now I KNOW that you’re awesome!!! haha. I drink almond-milk, ricemilk, oatmilk, hazelnut-milk, and (my personal favorite) Living Harvest brand of hempmilk. Yes, I love non-dairy “milks” :0D

Comment by VeggieGirl

VG-I have never tried hazelnut milk mmmm. I’ll have to get some soon!

Comment by julieannef

This survey seriously rocks my world…

Comment by VegMomma

I loved this survey! Your deserted island answer specifically (“VCON Black Bean Burgers, guacamole and margaritas!”) tells me you have awesome taste! Great, now I want some guac. and margaritas!

Comment by bazu




Leave a Reply

