julie\’s kind kitchen


Pasta with Vodka "Cream" Sauce
August 27, 2006, 4:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

On Sunday, my mom and my little brother came over to Matt and my apartment for a visit. It was really nice. I love having people over, especially when I can cook for them! We had a wonderful lunch, consisting of: pasta with Nancy’s Vodka “Cream” Sauce, salad with lots of goodies in it (bought pre-made from Trader Joes), rolls and cantelope. I forgot to take a pic of the entire spread since my mom was over. whoops! You’ll have to just “picture it”, I guess. :]

The pasta sauce was sooo good, I can’t even begin to tell you. Maybe I loved it so much because this was my first time making pasta sauce. Usually we just buy the jarred kind. Also, I have never tried a sauce with so much flavor. Plus, it was super fancy with the addition of vodka…or atleast I thought so! I think I am going to make a ton of this stuff this next weekend and freeze it for later use.

Oh, and I forgot to mention, I started school last week…and this year I am a SENIOR at ASU! woo-hoo! I am so glad and I already feel so accomplished…even though I haven’t graduated yet! Even though school has started, I am still trying to make almost all of our meals, with a little help from some frozen stuff every now and again.

Also, Matt and I have a new rule–we can only eat out once a week. Last night we ate at Udupi Cafe. It’s an Indian food place that is entirely vegetarian with a good portion of the dishes being vegan. It was just as good as I remember it from last time! I love all of the wonderful spices in Indian food. Yum. It was also a lot more special, seeing how it was the only time that week when we ate somewhere besides home.

Hope everyone is having a great week!!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Whew! I’m glad it turned out 🙂 Congrats on reaching your senior year – I met my hubby my senior year of college and pretty soon we’ll be celebrating our 20th anniversary! Good luck with the school year and keeping up the cooking – I really admire you 🙂

Comment by Nancy

We hardly eat out anymore. One for $ reasons, but also because so many places (that taste good) are dirty and disgusting to me. I’m picky and can’t believe I haven’t been to Green in weeks now.

Good luck with school this year Julie. We’ll get together soon. Also, have you seen the raw mango pie at the co-op? I don’t know if that counts as “eating out” for you, but it’s amazing.

Comment by EatPeacePlease

Nancy-It was fabulous! Congrats on your upcoming anniversary-I hope my boyfriend and I are together for that long. Thanks for the well wishes, your blog inspires me to cook!

Les-Yeah-getting off of Green will be very hard for me! If it was up to me [and Matt recieved no input] we would probably go to Green every week for our once a week eating out.

Thanks for the well wishes about school! Anytime on the weekend you want to get together…I’ll be there!

I haven’t been to the co-op in awhile, actually, since we moved. That pie sounds sooo good. I love thier home-made goodies.

Comment by Julie

Julie, I’m also excited for you and school!

We, on the other hand, eat out more often than I’d like, and I’d always find something that turns me off. But I’m working on being more prepared and packed when we are away from home.

Comment by kaivegan

Congratulations, Ms. Senior! That’s so cool. Wishing you the best in your quest for that ASU degree. Go, you!

I eat out far too often, not a great idea on a poor journalist salary. But i’m also lazy in the kitchen and a girl’s gotta eat… Good for you with your new “rule” – being frugal is SMART!!

Comment by KleoPatra

thanks Kai and Kleo for the wonderful wishes!!

You make me feel so loved! ❤

Comment by Julie




Leave a Reply

