julie\’s kind kitchen


Pesto Pasta, Veggies, & Bread
July 24, 2006, 8:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


On the menu today: *Best-O Pesto from The Everyday Vegan over whole wheat pasta
*Corn cut off of the cob after roasting it in the oven
*Broccoli steamed to perfection
*My favorite bread w/ Earth Balance

Everything was very yummy! The pesto was a nice change from the oily pestos I am use to. I don’t have a food processor, so I had to blend all of the pesto ingredients in my blender–which was a little bit difficult. I ended up adding some water & some extra olive oil to smooth things out and for better blending. Other than that–no complaints. I am going to use the leftover pesto to put on a ready-made pizza crust for tomorrow’s dinner.

I do have a question for everyone: How do you usually cook your corn on the cob?

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Julie, this looks great. I love Dreena’s pestos because they aren’t oily and runny. Yum to this whole meal! And wow, perfect brocoli!

I usually boil my corn or wrap it in foil so it doesn’t touch anything that was dead on a grill (we have a vegan grill though). You know I don’t do anything in the oven… he he.
Great post.

Comment by EatPeacePlease

thnx, Les! I can’t wait to try that sun dried tomato pesto of Dreena’s..mmmm.

I’ll have to give boiling a try or wrap it in foil on a grill. We don’t have a grill, so-I would have to use our communal apartment grill–ewww. Who knows what’s been grilled on that thing. 😦

Comment by Julie

Perfect meal! I didn’t enjoy it until this past year, but I’ve been craaaaving pesto lately..

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

For my corn on the cob – I prefer it grilled, and then spread with some earth balance and sea salt. I like it raw too, or cut off the cob and in tofu scramble.

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

jess-oh, yeah–pesto is soooo good!

corn of the cob raw, huh? i’ll have to try that!

Comment by Julie

I’m a boiler or a grilller…but sometimes I do raw. I must admit, I eat more frozen then off the cob. The cobs are so big and bulky and hard to cary home on my bike with all the other groceries.

Comment by Megan the Vegan

dinner looks awesome — especially the pasta w/pesto.

i usually boil our corn – we don’t have a grill, or i’d probably do that too. i like to cut it off the cobb for the girls and also for salads & stuff.

Comment by Vicki

So nice! Nice greeeeeeeeeen noodley things. So good for you… I love boiled but REALLY love grilled corn on the cob… Mmmmmm!

Comment by KleoPatra

Meg-that’s understandable! thnx for the input!

vicki-thnx! that salad idea sounds great!

thnx cleo! corn & pesto are both sooo yummy!

Comment by Julie

Julie, I love roasting corn in the oven, too! Hard to do when it’s 100 degrees outside, but mighty, mighty tasty.
My favorite corn on the cob condiment is a mixture of extra-virgin olive oil, lemon, pepper, salt, and minced parsley. Mmmmm!

Comment by Catherine

catherine-that corn on the cob topping sounds sooo great!! i’ll have to give that a try!

Comment by Julie




Leave a Reply

