julie\’s kind kitchen


"Lightened-Up" Falafel and Quinoa
July 20, 2006, 11:50 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


Tonight I made Dreena’s “Lightened-Up” Falafels from The Everyday Vegan. I served the falafels in whole wheat pita pockets with romaine lettuce and homemade cilantro hummus. This was my first time making falafels and I must say–I was pretty proud of the way they turned out. They were a little mushy inside due to the fact that I cooked them at too high of a temperature for too short of a time, but other than that, they were pretty good. Next time, though, I think I will deep fry them…they may no longer be “lightened-up”–but, boy they will be tasty!

On the side of these pockets, we had quinoa and apples.

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Way to make the falafels! As a Jewess, i have had my share over the years. It is a staple for many Jews and usually vegan as well, which is fantastic ’cause sometimes when eating at a non-veg Middle Eastern place this is something that it’s nice to see on the menu. Yours looks great! And i like your nice tableware. How was the apples and quinoa mixture!?

Comment by KleoPatra

that looks scrumptious and so summery.

Comment by Urban Vegan

kleo-I always order the falfel when out at a Middle Eastern place! Yum! oh, and the quinoa & apples were not mixed–two separate sides 🙂

urban vegan- thnx!

Comment by Julie

Julie, this looks so good. It was your first time making falafel, not eating right? I only fry mine, and I like to press them down like patties so I don’t have to use too much oil. That meal looks great with quinoa, must have been filling!

I really really like your table set up and the colors you guys have going on in the apartment. We finally got a kitchen table after 2 years, but we don’t have chairs! Aaah!!! We sit at the counter or use the coffee table and try to avoid turning the television on while eating.

Comment by EatPeacePlease

Looks great!
Your party from your last post looked fabulous… way to go with the vegan food..and having someone ask for the recipe..

Comment by Melody




Leave a Reply

