julie\’s kind kitchen


Grilled Veggie Sandwiches & Vegan Potato Salad
July 11, 2006, 8:33 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


On the menu for tonight was grilled veggie sandwiches, vegan potato salad, cantelope and chocolate pudding for dessert.

The veggie sandwiches contain: grilled summer squash, grilled onions, grilled peppers, roasted red peppers, veganaise, and stone ground mustard. I stacked the veggies on my absolute favorite bread–French Meadow Bakery Flax & Sunflower Seed. This bread is delicious, organic, and has 4 grams of protein per slice!

The salad is Vegan Planet’s “Close to Mom’s Potato Salad”. See a link to Vegan Planet in the previous post. I have never made potato salad before, let alone vegan potato salad and I must say–it was AWESOME! So fresh and definitely picnic-worthy!

I picked up the cantaloupe today (no pic) and it was perfectly ripe and sweet. I do think cantaloupe is my favorite fruit. Yum.

The chocolate pudding is good ‘ol Mori-Nu Mates Pudding Mix.

12 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow. It all looks fantastic. The pudding especially appeals to my sweeeeeeeeeet tooth. Grilled veggies are one of life’s little joys. Thanks for a delish post!

Comment by KleoPatra

Check that pudding out!

I always keep packets of those pudding mixes in my pantry, and I’ve used them for different things but not like yours. Thanks for the inspiration!

Comment by kaivegan

Wow Julie! I love love love your new page. Very *cool* of you.

THat pudding (well, and the other food) looks really great. I’m glad to see you back blogging. Now if I can get around to it…

Comment by EatPeacePlease

I wish I could order up that sandwich and salad right this very minute – I’m hungry, there’s nothing in the house and I don’t feel like going out… sigh. It looks great Julie 🙂

Comment by Nancy

Simple, good food is the best. now I have a craving for potato salad!

Comment by Urban Vegan

thnx, kleo! The pudding is soo great!

kai- I must say, I learned about the Mori-Nu Tofu Mates from you!! I saw it on your MM and found it at my local HFS (thnx to Leslie).

Les- thnx! The bright pink was making me a little sick-hehe. 😛

jess- The pudding is yummy. I have only had the chocolate flavor, though. I might try the lemon tonight.

nancy-What a compliment (coming from you)! I know what you mean–I have just recently gotten the energy to start whipping things up–however, I still keep it really simple!

urban vegan-thnx! I agree.

Comment by Julie

Grilled veggies are the best! Make everything taste a little gourmet, and your sandwiches look great.

I have always been a fan of the mori-nu pudding mates, and recently I haven’t been able to find them at our stores anymore. I may have to order them online, because I have tried other pudding mixes and they do not come close to the texture/taste of the mori-nu ones – plus they are super easy to make!! Time to go hunt again. 🙂

Comment by Dreena

Dreena- I couldn’t find them for the longest time either! Sometimes they tuck them away in the same isle as the chcolate chips.

Comment by Julie

wow, julie you have some great food photos up & that coconut rice sounds amazing & your sandwich & pudding, etc. what did you end up cooking saturday night at work?!

Comment by Vicki

mmm…that pudding looks amazing…and the bananas go so well with chocolate.

Comment by Megan the Vegan

The French Meadow Bakery is in Minneapolis! They do have very excellent bread. Yum!

Comment by Catherine

vicki- thnx! We have ended up making a lot of things–we mostly end up going with Mexican, though- because everyone loves it!

megan-oh yeah-bananas and chocolate…almost as good as strawberries and chocolate!!

catherine-how awesome! my boyfriend works for a company that does their marketing–so, we have been getting a lot of their bread for free! woo-hoo!

Comment by Julie




Leave a Reply

