julie\’s kind kitchen


Cuban Style Black Beans w/ Corn Bread
July 10, 2006, 10:55 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


Tonight I made my hunny & I the Cuban Style Black Beans from Vegan Planet. MmMmMm… The recipe worked out well and was actually the 1st one I’ve made from this gigantic book. For the black beans, I actually used a combo of black beans and corn that was left-over from a previous nights dinner. Does anyone have any “must-try” recipes from this cookbook? There are sooo many recipes, it’s hard to know where to begin!

I paired these yummy beans with some cornbread (Matt’s fav). Sorry, no recipe! This was from a box purchased at Trader Joe’s. Instead of the added egg suggested on the box, I just used some Ener-G Egg Replacer and it worked out brilliantly!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We’re big fans of that corn bread in my household too. I think I use soy yogurt as an egg replacer in it. Delicious meal.

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

Nice. How much soy yogurt do you use to replace one egg?

Comment by Julie

1/4 cup, I use plain unless I have flavored on hand and it works with a recipe.

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

Cool-I’ll have to try that. thnx! 🙂

Comment by Julie

Please try the dumplings stuffed with tofu, etch. found near the front of the book. They are AMAZING.

Comment by Cannibal Roses

thanks for the suggestiong, cannibal!

Comment by Julie




Leave a Reply

