julie\’s kind kitchen


Copycat Calzones
April 12, 2006, 9:32 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


So, a couple of days ago I was browsing through Blogs and came to one of my favorite ones. Nancy had made calzones for her family…and it gave me a major craving! Matt and I always have Trader Joes’ ready made pizza crust on hand (Matt & I
Back in our omnivore days we loved ham and pineapple on our pies. I wanted to recreate our long lost love-so, I bought some Yves Veggie Ham and some canned pineapple. Matt did the rolling and tossing of the dough (as usual) and I did the sauce pouring and sprinkled on the toppings. They were delicious!

Oh, and I decided to go with a less healthy side. Nancy made some yummy salad-I went with some Salt & Vinegar chips and some Goddess dressing to dip my calzone in! Hey, I’m a college student, OK!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Amazing minus that fake ham. Not for me, but other wise this is wonderful and that Goddess dressing kills me, so good…

Comment by EatPeacePlease

Impressive… you’ve been cooking!

Comment by KaiVegan

Leslie~ hehe-I know you are not one for the fake meat–I have never enjoyed fake deli slices, but I just had to try this!

Thanks, Kai!

Comment by Julie

Yours look awesome ๐Ÿ™‚ Can I just tell you that as a college student you are cooking MILES beyond what I was (Ragu? Top Ramen?). I always liked the Hawaiian pizza too! Since my older daughter is not a vegetarian by choice we often use these deli slices, etc.

Comment by Nancy

oh, and another comment. If my youngest could have salt and vinegar chips every day she would. As the parent I have to say “moderation” but truth is, they rock ๐Ÿ˜‰

Comment by Nancy

Julie, I got some “pepperoni” for the kids to add to their pizza and my oldest actually liked it. She said it tastes like real pepperoni. I think it’s way too salty! But hey, the girls liked their pizza and even ate the veggies in it, so I might get that again.

Comment by KaiVegan

Nancy~ Thanks! All of these blogs give me inspiration to want to cook! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I love Salt & Vinegar chips–a lot of people seem to not like the intense flavor, though. They are so addicting!

Kai-I’ve never tried “pepperoni”. Sounds pretty neat. I think fake meat is ok in moderation. Glad your girls like it–and that they ate their veggies!!

Comment by Julie

mmm my boyfriend would love those calzones!

Comment by Melissa

These look soooooo good!! Calzones were faves of mine years and years ago. I โค the faque ham... NICE!

Comment by KleoPatra




Leave a Reply

