julie\’s kind kitchen


Vegan Cheesecake
March 29, 2006, 2:17 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


So, yesterday was my sweetie’s birthday and I decided to make him a cake (see previous post). After many great suggestions about different cheesecake and carrot cake recipes (thanks everyone!) I decided to go with the one Nancy made awhile back for her dh’s birthday.

Well, let’s just say it looked delish, but it tasted too tofu-y. It was my fault though, –not the recipe’s fault. It called for soft tofu, but I only had firm-so, I made the substitution. I won’t make that mistake again! Oh, well! It was the thought that counted and neither Matt nor I thought it was that big of a deal. 🙂

oh, btw-I gotta give a “shout-out” to Leslie whos B-Day was also on the 28th!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Very cool pic, Julie! Love the ’21’ – great job on that!

Firm tofu will definitely give off a ‘tofu-y’ taste if substituted for soft, so I can understand what you mean. I had a vegan cheesecake that was a bit tofu-y, and I ended up eating it as a snack rather than a dessert, because it seemed to fill me enough without being sweet! Anyhow… the pic looks great, and happy birthday to your man!

By the way, doesn’t Nancy have incredible food posts?… different and enticing, I just love them!

Comment by Dreena

Thanks for the shout-out. That’s sweet of you!

I always keep both firm and soft tofu on hand (you never know…)

Comment by EatPeacePlease

Oh drats – I somehow feel personally responsible for Matt’s birthday cake 😉 I can see where the substitution might have made it just too tofu-y – as it was with the soft tofu I blended the heck out of it. But you dressed it up purdy with the “21” (and how old does it make me feel to realize my daughter is only a few years behind you guys…sigh). Happy Birthday Matt – if you guys are ever in the bay area I owe you a cake!

Dreena – thanks for the compliment 🙂

Comment by Nancy

Hey Dreena! Yeah-I was really excited about making the ’21’ shape with the candles! Also, I sung him ‘Happy Birthday’ before he blew out the candles! Who says you have to be 5 to get sung to?! Nancy does have great food ideas! It was all my fault for using the firm tofu–I don’t know what I was thinking!

Hey Leslie-I should always have both on hand-good idea. 🙂

Hey Nancy- It was all my fault! I can’t even follow a simple recipe! Although, I mean, I won’t pass up a free cake! 😉

Comment by Julie

Beautiful Cake…Clever with the 21 blazing! Thanks for posting your lesson on the tofu.

Comment by Vicki

It looks gorgeous, regardless! Happy Birthday to your boyfriend~
What recipe was it? I really like the NY style cheesecake from Sinfully Vegan (it’s also in the vegancooking livejournal archives)- it just needs extra vanilla and lemon, I’ve used it as a base for other flavors with success as well.
Great job!

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

Thanks, Jess!

I used the recipe from Nancy’s blog…you can get the link from my post about birthday cake ideas.

You should try it with soft tofu-it’s probably good! 😉 Silly, me…always trying to cut corners!

Comment by Julie

Happy birthday to you, and thank you for the tofu tip.

Comment by Virginie

Looks great!
PS:

There’s a new Midweek Munchies Code up on my blog now – check it out!

Comment by Harmonia




Leave a Reply

