julie\’s kind kitchen


Treats
March 20, 2006, 7:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


I really wanted to make something sweet tonight. However, I wanted to make something semi-healthy and I didn’t want to have to buy something at the store. Then, I though of Leslie
and her quick and versatile recipe for treats. I decided that was what I was craving!

My treats have:

brown rice cereal w/ freeze dried fruit (Matt got a box for free through work)
dried plums
walnuts
sunflower seeds
Tropical Source Chocolate Chips
pb
honey (using it up-next time I’ll buy some agave nectar or brown rice syrup)

They were yummy! Thanks Leslie!

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ll do a dance to that! This is wonderful Julie!!!

Funny, because I always end up using raisins and I keep forgetting to buy dried fruit. I saw some dried cranberries (which I love) at the Sunflower Market, but they weren’t real, or if they were, they had a TON of added crap in them, therefore they are not in my home.

I like your variations, and the best thing is, pretty much anything goes with it.

It’s a good thing to just keep your leftover honey around the house (in case someone is sick or a guest comes by) and just go for the agave nectar now. Also, if you start to vegan-cook a lot, you will find that it’s handy to always keep brown rice syrup on hand. Just my advice…

Thanks for the huge dedication here! Awesome treats. We should swap some, although I plan on making some in the next few days as we have a friend coming in town to stay this weekend.

Comment by EatPeacePlease

No prob, Leslie.

I think I need to stick mine in the freezer fo a bit, though…they are kinda falling apart-do you ever have that problem?

Comment by Julie

Julie, as soon as I am done pressing them in the pan (or whatever type of container), if I want to eat them right away, I put them in the freezer for 20 minutes and then always keep in the fridge. When I make them for the next day or so, I just make them and put ’em in the fridge.

You may need a better binder, or maybe just more pb. Did you melt it down enough so it was sticky and runny? It spreads better, but then you need the pb or some butter type thing to hold it together more.

You can also press down real hard on the whole batch when you plop it into the pan. It keeps them together more too.

Comment by EatPeacePlease

I just noticed you have pacific time on your blog.

We’re mountain.

Comment by EatPeacePlease

Thanks for the tips!

oh, I don’t even remember being asked a time zone-how do i change that?

Comment by Julie

Wow, I just visited after a day or two, and you have all these terrific food posts going on!! The treats sound great, and your tofu scramble looks good, even though I don’t normally order them and never make them! Of course, potatoes – yummy… we eat lots in our house!

Comment by Dreena

Julie, I think its under the “dashboard” part when you have the 4 little tabs at the top when you are about to post a new post. It should be under the first tab, I think it’s called the settings. Just scroll through, it’s on there and I think it’s a pull-down box that you can choose. Try that.

Comment by EatPeacePlease




Leave a Reply

