julie\’s kind kitchen


I need your help! re: B-day Cake
March 20, 2006, 12:53 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized


Ok, so Matt’s birthday is coming up and I really want to make him a nice cake. His favorites are carrot cake and cheese cake. So, I am looking for tried and true recipes for either one of those. Oh, and I do want to make them vegan…even thought we are both vegetarians. Thanks in advance!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

The carrot cake recipe in Vegan with a Vengeneance is amazing. I fed it to coworkers, my boyfriend, and my neighbor- no complaints, just seconds and thirds. I didn’t use candied ginger, just macadamia nuts and coconut along with the carrots, etc.

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

Why don’t you ask Dreena!?!?

I’m not a baker these days, so no help sorry, but I can go through some of my books and post recipes if you want.

Comment by EatPeacePlease

Jess-I was wondering if that was good~I am glad you tested it out for me. hehe

Leslie- Yeah-I’ll probably ask Dreena to look at this post. You must get over your oven trauma…you’re missing cakes!

Nancy- I’ll take a look at your post-thanks!

Comment by Julie

http://cheerjess.livejournal.com/561081.html

That photo does is no justice, but the cake + the coconut buttercream is extraordinary.

Whatever you make I look forward to the outcome!

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

does it no*

Comment by jess (of Get Sconed!)

Did you find a good vegan carrot cake recipe?! Please share if you did… We made a non-vegan carrot cake for my daughter’s first birthday last weekend. I gotta admit, it was delicious! :o)

Comment by Vicki




Leave a Reply

