julie\’s kind kitchen


Hungry-Girl Brunch
October 26, 2008, 1:12 pm
Filed under: Vegan Mofo | Tags:

I was really starving this morning (well, early afternoon) when I woke up. I knew I wanted something really filling and I immediately though of this post by Happy Herbivore and Catherine’s awesome signature breakfast. I decided on tofu scramble with sauteed spinach, hash browns and an apple. Catherine gave me some tips on making hash browns and I attempted some earlier in the week. I think I added way to much oil. Plus, I only have Russets and she recommends Yukon Golds. This time, I think they came out pretty well! The color on them isn’t very even, but they tasted good. Once the farmer’s market has Yukon Golds again, I’ll definitely make some with those. As for the scramble, it was fabulous. I don’t have scrambled tofu all that often, but for some reason I was craving it! I used soft tofu (because that’s all I had) and added spinach sauteed with garlic.

Thanks ladies, for your breakfast inspiration! This hungry-girl is officially full.

15 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow! That looks awesome!!!!

Comment by happy herbivore

Oooh, comforting!

Comment by VeggieGirl

that is a beautiful breakfast.

Comment by bex

YUM!
What an awesome breakfast!!

Comment by Jeni Treehugger

Scramble and potatoes can’t be beat! Yum!

Comment by Vegannifer

Hash browns are always tough…mine aren’t ever as pretty as say, the Waffle House’s…but they still taste good….I’m always scared to add too much oil.

Comment by Bianca- Vegan Crunk

Hashbrowns do involve some sort of learning curve . . . but what a great first couple of tries you’ve had! I’ve been getting sick of our weekend brunch lately (we had it again this past Sunday!), and I think I’m going to mix it up this weekend!! And I’ve been craving tofu scramble . . . !!!!

Comment by catherine (FOOD SNOB)

Total comfort food, perfect for winter :)

Comment by Kristen's Raw

Mmmmm. I am not a morning person but a meal like that, the hash browns especially, makes me want to get out of bed. Yum yum!

Comment by Kelly

I actually haven’t tried scramble tofu before, but I’ve heard that it’s great.

Comment by Katie

Yummy looks very very tasty!

xxx Bar.

Comment by Bar

Yum, this looks like quite a delicious breakfast. What spices did you use in your tofu scramble?

Comment by Wheeler's Crew

Wow. Looks absolutely delicious. The perfect breakfast. Can’t wait to try it.

Comment by California Fertility Partners

The hash browns look perfect, and I’ve always preferred the taste of Russet over Yukon Gold. I’ll probably use Firm Tofu but I’m definitely trying this recipe right away.

Comment by Thomas DeKorte

I needed to thank you for this very good read!
! I certainly enjoyed every bit of it. I’ve got you saved as a favorite to check out new things you post…

Comment by Emmanuel




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

